Random Culture Moment

By: catherineross

Apr 17 2011

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments

Heres one of the musicians in the "Random Act of Culture" I experienced this weekend at Eastern Market. I was engaged in photographing my favorite flower stand when all of a sudden an orchestra appeared out of nowhere and filled the shed with the most beautiful resounding melody. I hurried over to catch a few moments of this glorious gift but before I knew it, they were packing up their instruments and quickly disappeared into the crowd of Saturday shoppers. As I mentioned in my last post, a kind gentleman standing next to me explained this culture concept so I went home and googled it. Its very cool. There seems to be an art movement, at least here in the "D", that highlights a transient, in the moment, beauty in art. The ArtX exhibit lasted five days last week. The shoes in Tyree Guytons exhibit will be gathered and removed from the street. Musicians involved in "Random Acts of Culture" play quickly and spontaneously (to the recipient) and are gone. I find it unique, exciting and organic. What a delightful concept! Thank you Knight Arts!

2 comments on “Random Culture Moment”

  1. So glad you were able to capture some of the Random Culture Movement, and thank you for sharing.


Leave a comment